Reverse Engineering Naza Firmware

Reaction score
Does anyone have any information on the type of processor used in the NAZA? Googling has not turned up much. Even better would be if someone has already started disassembling the firmware. I've got a lot of low level experience doing this type of thing and would love to help reverse engineer and document it if anyone has already started with IDA.

This could be invaluable in helping answer a lot of the questions around potential problems in the firmware linked to fly-aways, and things like "is the compass used in ATTI mode?" etc.

If anyone has any info or willing to help with this investigation, please let me know.

I think one of the great things about the Nazza is how DJI have implemented developed it into a solid, polished, commercial package that works great out the box.
My mind shudders at the thought of people hacking into it and releasing random firmware's into the wild.

If people were still interested in unstable flight platforms which were flaky, unreliable and which randomly executed the flip-of-death I imagine DJI would be out of business and we'd all have open source KK boards and Ardu's.

marcus_canada said:
I think one of the great things about the Nazza is how DJI have implemented developed it into a solid, polished, commercial package that works great out the box.
My mind shudders at the thought of people hacking into it and releasing random firmware's into the wild.

If people were still interested in unstable flight platforms which were flaky, unreliable and which randomly executed the flip-of-death I imagine DJI would be out of business and we'd all have open source KK boards and Ardu's.

Fully agree with your basic premise. If I wanted to experiment, it would be a lot easier for me to fool around with one of the open source projects which already have full documentation.