Return to home only goes straight up!

Reaction score
I am an experienced P3 pilot and picked up a P4 Standard in what looks to be like new condition. Before any flights I calibrated the IMU and Compass and started a series of small and short tests from my front yard with a maximum distance of about 300' from home. The max altitude was set to 120 meters and the RTH altitude to 60 meters. This would be the first time that I ever try to cancel a RTH while in near panic. I made a mistake in pressing "Cancel" instead of "OK" thinking that Cancel was stop returning. All flights were with DJI Go 4.

Here is what happened:
  • The P4 flew well in several small & short test flights and then I set the AC in a hover about 300ft from my house to do an accuracy test of the RTH.
  • At 4:12 I initiated a RTH with the RC button.
  • The flight log shows the distance from home to be 0ft. which is incorrect as it was at the corner about 300'away. This error started when the flight commenced and does not end until 6:34.
  • The AC rotated to face the home direction and then started climbing.
  • 4:22 AC reaches an altitude of 195' and reports "RTH: Backing up to avoid obstacle". There was no obstacle.
  • 4:53 Exceeds the maximum allowed altitude of 120 meters.
  • 6:01 AT an altitude of 763' the data log shows that it is pre-ascending and backing up to avoid an obstacle.
  • 6:34 The distance from home changes from 0 to 286ft after a brief loss of signal. Altitude was 970ft.
  • Mild panic set in and I invited my wife to come say goodbye to my new toy and was resigned to see it fall from the sky when the battery failed.
  • 9:00 At an altitude of 1,640' the connection was restored and this time I hit the "OK" when I cancelled the RTH.
  • From there I was able to bring it back down to a safe landing.