re500 / re700 wifi range extender help

Joined
Dec 8, 2016
Messages
8
Reaction score
0
Age
37
will the re500 or re700 wifi range extender be useful with a gopro hero 4 which im using in my gimbal on a phantom 2 standard

NB: i want to get a wifi range extender for my phantom 2 standard, i have a gopro hero 4 camera on my gimbal
and i want to know if getting a re500 or re700 range extender will work with my gopro hero 4 can anyone help me please!!

I want to use the dji vision app so i can see my battery level and the altitude of my phantom 2 as at the moment I'm currently using the gopro app to view live from my drone
 
Last edited:

Mark The Droner

Premium Pilot
Joined
Aug 26, 2015
Messages
5,311
Reaction score
1,740
I'm not a straight P2 guy, but my weak understanding is that the Phantom 2 doesn't have a transmitter aboard. So without a transmitter, how can it send you any info?

The other problem is, your control is 2.4 Ghz, and since the Vision range extender are also 2.4 ghz, you may have a conflict there.
 

Mark The Droner

Premium Pilot
Joined
Aug 26, 2015
Messages
5,311
Reaction score
1,740
I would think so.

Like I said, I'm not a P2 guy, so I don't know much about them. All I know is the control is 2.4 ghz whereas the Vision control is 5.8 ghz. I thought you guys with the straight P2s used 5.8 ghz for FPV?

Bottom line is, how can you get any info from the AC if it doesn't have a transmitter? Where is the 2.4 ghz signal which contains the battery and altitude info coming from?

You're at a disadvantage because there are not a lot of straight P2 guys around these days to help you...

BTW, welcome to the site!
 
Joined
Oct 12, 2014
Messages
5,136
Reaction score
572
Location
Commerce Twp,MI
will the re500 or re700 wifi range extender be useful with a gopro hero 4 which im using in my gimbal on a phantom 2 standard

NB: i want to get a wifi range extender for my phantom 2 standard, i have a gopro hero 4 camera on my gimbal
and i want to know if getting a re500 or re700 range extender will work with my gopro hero 4 can anyone help me please!!

I want to use the dji vision app so i can see my battery level and the altitude of my phantom 2 as at the moment I'm currently using the gopro app to view live from my drone
The P2 non-vision uses a frequency of 2.4GHz and the FPV system uses 5.8GHZ. You cannot use wifi with a P2 NV as the wifi signal will interfere with the P2's controller both use the same frequency. So if you want to use wifi then you need a P2 vision+ 5.8GHz, wifi extender, app and either a cell phone or tablet to view what the camera sees.
 
Joined
Dec 8, 2016
Messages
8
Reaction score
0
Age
37
Hi mark tnx for the welcome to the site,, how about just using a wifi range extender to boost the connection from my iphone whice is on my clip mount on my controller to my gopro so I don't lose wifi connection so i can get more hight and more to view n record
Using the gopro app

Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots
 
Joined
Dec 8, 2016
Messages
8
Reaction score
0
Age
37
And My controller doesn't have a battery lid and when i turn it on it beeps 3 times its a NDJ6


Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots
 

Mark The Droner

Premium Pilot
Joined
Aug 26, 2015
Messages
5,311
Reaction score
1,740
If you're FPV is 5.8 ghz, then the vision range extender is not going to do a thing for your FPV. See my first post.
 
Joined
Dec 8, 2016
Messages
8
Reaction score
0
Age
37
See my fpv is currently from my gopro cam n gopro app I don't have a transmitter under my p2 its just the H3 3D gimbal with a gopro hero4 so i was hoping if i got a re500 or re700 it would help with getting more wifi range from my iphone n my gopro so i can go higher and not get you have lost wifi connection to gopro message from the gopro app


Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots
 
Joined
Oct 12, 2014
Messages
5,136
Reaction score
572
Location
Commerce Twp,MI
See my fpv is currently from my gopro cam n gopro app I don't have a transmitter under my p2 its just the H3 3D gimbal with a gopro hero4 so i was hoping if i got a re500 or re700 it would help with getting more wifi range from my iphone n my gopro so i can go higher and not get you have lost wifi connection to gopro message from the gopro app


Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots
Risky business use the the GoPro's wifi which is the same frequency of 2.4GHz as your P2 controller and receiver. So if you do not want to lose or crash your P2 best to shut off the wifi.
 
Joined
Dec 8, 2016
Messages
8
Reaction score
0
Age
37
So unless i get an actual fpv kit ie: transmitter etc,, I shouldn't get a wifi extender just for the gopro,,


Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots
 
Joined
Oct 12, 2014
Messages
5,136
Reaction score
572
Location
Commerce Twp,MI
So unless i get an actual fpv kit ie: transmitter etc,, I shouldn't get a wifi extender just for the gopro,,


Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots
You shouldn't be using the wifi period with a P2 non-vision.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Mako79
Joined
May 16, 2014
Messages
3,530
Reaction score
625
Location
Sydney Australia
So unless i get an actual fpv kit ie: transmitter etc,, I shouldn't get a wifi extender just for the gopro,,


Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots
Correct.
You need to go down the 5.8ghz Analogue FPV path.
AVL58 transmitter
Mini IOSD for telemetry
Black Pearl diversity display with receiver.
DJI plug and play board or some soldering skills.

You'll get a 1K analogue range

Its not cheap, so research for other alternatives.

AND NEVER activate the gopro WIFI as it may cause flyaways.
 
Phantom Drones from EALLRC.com

Forum statistics

Threads
136,758
Messages
1,414,126
Members
99,400
Latest member
Robert S.