Re-attaching PV2 camera wires

Reaction score
Okay, I had a bad day, and crashed my P2V into thick grass. The battery popped out, and the camera mount came loose. The aircraft structure seems none the worse for wear, but the three wires to the camera have been severed. Question: does anybody know the right gauge of wire I should use to splice the wires? My plan is to do a simple splice with electrical tape before resorting to soldering. I am not an electrician by any means, but I believe this would be sufficient. Then I will bring up the system to test the camera and the gimbal.

I searched for threads relating to separated camera, but didn't find anything. If this same tragedy (albeit self-imposed) has happened to any of you, please let me know how you handled it.

Cheers!

Same thing happened to my buddy Rick, got to close while weaving thru the trees and clipped one, resulting in a crash. Seem every time the camera and battery pop off. In his case the camera just came un-plugged but the jack broke.

Wow - if the jack breaks...that's part of the camera housing. Did he find a way to repair it?

My accident was so unnecessary. I started getting fancy when the battery reached around 25%. I attempted to land on a wooden footpath. But then - and this is where I start beating myself up - I forgot the engine shutdown procedure. Somehow, one of the props got caught in the wood, splintering the wood, but the prop appeared okay. The system stopped the engines, as the prop in question actually got caught under a sliver of wood. I should have quit then and took her home. Like a fool, I elected to take off again. The lights underneath were flashing red, and the P2V ran away from me. I could not get it to return to base. I think I panicked and shut down the engines with the infamous in-flight both-sticks-angled-down. My fault, but it sure does bruise the ego.

Here's a brutally explicit graphic of what I did to my P2V:

1779697_1405626693025033_1406458591_n.jpg