RC firmware updates have reduced power by over half?

Reaction score
Not sure what to make of this, but I find it very intriguing and more importantly very disheartening if true.

after.png
before.png

I have two GL300Bs. One with the latest firmware and DBS/Itelite, and the other still brand new in the plastic with stock firmware 1.3something.

I really want one of those meters. Bad. I wanna know.

I have GL-300C and P3A, all latest firmware and few days ago I went 1700m in CE mode with no problem.

My p3p doesn't go past 550m for some reason, all up to date firmware. Any help would be great
Thanks.
Btw what is CE mode, im new to all this

CE is remote working mode for Europe and it has lower range than those in US which use FCC mode.

I live in Europe (CE), have a GL-300B and flying up to 6 kilometers distance with no problems.Just with a windsurf antenna.Latest firmware.
So I don't thing your firmware is the problem. Maybe your flying spot is. Try open spaces, no electricity cables, no houses etc.

How do you know that CE is less than makers max stated range? Please.

Sent from my iPad using PhantomPilots mobile app

Screenshot_2016-05-29-20-57-55.png
I live in Europe (CE), have a GL-300B and flying up to 6 kilometers distance with no problems.Just with a windsurf antenna.Latest firmware.
So I don't thing your firmware is the problem. Maybe your flying spot is. Try open spaces, no electricity cables, no houses etc.

Took my P3A for its first distance run a few weeks back after owning it since January, with a GL300-B, totally stock and all the latest updates I started getting the picture break up and weak signal warning at 4000ft, I've since invested in some windsurfers, other than that it's still stock and no further firmware updates and thus time it went right upto 10000ft with no hint of picture loss or warnings, I can only imagine what the max distance would be if I kept going, frightening what a £5 mod has done

True firmware updates reduce range, sad really.