Questions Before Buying Phantom 2

Reaction score
I'm considering buying a Phantom 2 and I have a few questions before I pull the trigger. I have a friend who used to work in a hobby shop and got a few Phantoms for demo purposes and he's selling one now at a discount so I'm looking to buy it. I'm a professional photographer who also is now doing some video production and want to add a drone to my arsenal.

I have two questions though. First, he has the H3 2D gimbal on his and I'm concerned that I'm just not going to like it compared to the 3 axis gimbal. I've hears a lot of mixed about this issue where some say the upgrade isn't worth it and some say it is. Video comparisons on youtube are all over the place on this. Any suggestions?

Next, I would need to pick up a gopro for this purchase. I know I need to go with a gorpo 3 but which one is recommended? Is there really a difference between them? Will a GoPro White work as good as a silver or black? Also, what is the range with a gopro versus just buying the Phantom Vision+ camera, which I am also considering just buying new. Obviously I'd like to save a few bucks but I don't want to make a bad choice and regret it later on. Thanks!

shotbyadam said:
I haven't heard anything about a compass issue. Can you explain this a bit please?

The earth's magnetic field isn't 100% consistent right? different types of bedrock, iron etc. so basically there are certain spots on the planet where the Phantom's compass goes a bit screwy and it can lead to abnormal flight behavior... like it'll drift one direction or something when you try to fly straight.

There are plenty of folks running Phantoms just fine without any compass / gps issues... sure some are but it wouldn't stop me form getting one. Even if you're in the affected minority there's a firmware update due out soon to fix it.