Question about antennas - Dbs/argtek/standard

Reaction score
Ok so what is stopping us from saving 100$ - buying 3 mini pcie to sma and buying 3 generic antennas for 4$ each - total cost would be 20$ ?

The "brand name" antennas are from chine and tawain - and off practically the same assembly line of the default generic antennas - so why such a price increase ?

I'm new to quads - p3s owner for a week but I've been dealing with Rf and wifi for a decade and it's not adding up.

It's not like these expensive ones come with internal boosters with independent battery power to boost signal - they are just antennas

What am I missing here ?

Personally, I would not waste my time with Argtek. The ITELITE DBS is so much superior.

ITELITE is from Poland, not China. Besides, "made in China" does not necessarily mean what it meant a few years ago.

ITELITE is vastly superior to any non-name you find on eBay. Do your research and you'll see.

Thank for your input - I still feel that the manufacturing of an antenna is exactly the same - regardless of its creator - sure there is QC involved and some factories are crappier than the others but still .

For example - what's wrong with these antennas ?

They are dual band - so u can use these 3 on ur p3s transmitter - wouldn't this cause a good increase in flight distance ?

https://www.ebay.com/itm/371344750601

For starters, they're not directional.

You can buy that eBay stuff if you want, but in the end, they'll end up in a drawer somewhere.

Reactions: N017RW
Ok but hear me out - max distance on directional 9db is 1320ft - max distance on an Omni 9db is 1200 feet.

So we're talking about 120 feet

I'm talking strictly profile numbers based on db and Omni/directional

the 9db Omni would be fine for 5.4 since the arg comes with a 10db Omni - at least for Rc

As for fpv you might be right but I can test it