Protective Unit and screws - Can anyone answer this one

Reaction score
Hi All,

Newbie here and have rigged up the P2 with gimbal and Hero 3.
On the install video at http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=pl ... jRaCYtQtvM
You can see what they call a protective unit - essentially it adds some further security to the dampeners between the two plates.
I noticed in older unboxing videos these "protective units" didn't exist. Is it necessary to have these in? Is this a new version update?

The reason I ask is I had a little incident which snapped all four of them. I have one spare but for the life of me can not find the part on-line. Is this a nice to have or am I safe without these additional safety pieces.

Your assistance is greatly appreciated

Scott

Attachments

• Screen Shot 2014-01-05 at 18.45.51.png
    Screen Shot 2014-01-05 at 18.45.51.png
    200.8 KB · Views: 1,050
  • protective unit 003.jpg
    protective unit 003.jpg
    31.6 KB · Views: 1,029
Not needed. If you really feel that you must have these, you can use little wire ties. Not too tight. Not too loose.

Two of mine have now been lost, broken off? Idk, vibrated loose? Maybe. Can we not get replacements? Maybe try the zip tie?

Chris0275 said:
Two of mine have now been lost, broken off? Idk, vibrated loose? Maybe. Can we not get replacements? Maybe try the zip tie?

No news on replacements. Funnily I took Ksc suggestion but only had zip ties!! See the photo. Bit windy at mo to check but seems to be perfect solution and to be honest as the others so readily snapped I am loathed to fit them again. This will ensure my GoPro tries not free fall out of the tree this time, however one is not looking to repeat that incident.

Attachments

• protective unit 002.jpg
    protective unit 002.jpg
    78.4 KB · Views: 1,028
Great solution!!! I had the same issue. Plus, I intentionally over tightened them and it came back with two gone. I honestly thought they were needed.