Propellers in the way

Reaction score
Hello everyone,

I'm seriously considering purchasing the P3. Note that I have not had any Phantom so far.
The one thing I noticed are folks complaining about the propellers showing up in the videos of their P2s, depending on the moves they were making. Which meant cropping & resizing at editing.
I am no professional videomaker but I like clean videos and being able to enjoy the full potential of the device.
- How much of an issue is this on the P2V+? are we talking 50% of the shots impacted or 2%?
- Do you reckon the P3 will suffer from the same pb? or will the modified landing gears and camera FoV have an effect on that? I guess a P3 owner or DJI person would know but perhaps the answer can be infered from the specs.

thanks in advance for your answers!

Not a big deal.
Props will show if you have the camera up and fly fast but with the camera down a little and easy on the speed the issue is gone.
The camera on the P3 has a narrower field of view instead of the fisheye lens which will also reduce the incidence of props in shot.

morhedec, it looks like the props are still going to show if you fly aggressively:
To view this content we will need your consent to set third party cookies.
For more detailed information, see our cookies page.
To be fair .. that was Blade's first flight and he says he was driving it hard to see what the bird would do. Not the way you fly when filming and no surprise props are showing..
His second test flight is completely different
To view this content we will need your consent to set third party cookies.
For more detailed information, see our cookies page.

thanks for the quick answers and the videos - very useful.
The comparison between the 2 vids shows how slow/smooth you need to be if you don't want the props to show up. Should be ok most of the times but means following a moving target may be an issue. The first vid was also a bit worrying when the owner is yawning the drone - very shaky.