Prop Balancing Question

Reaction score
I'm new to this and have watched and read a little bit about prop balancing, but i was wondering if it's important to polish the props at all after balancing. I've bought a couple sets of unbalanced carbon fiber props and cant help but notice after balancing the nice smooth shine is now a dull, matte color. And worse many props are shiny on one side and rough on the other.

I don't care about how they look so much, just want to be sure i'm not loosing performance. Is polishing recommended? And if so, how should I go about it?

Do yourself a favor and drop the carbon fiber. Only use DJI props. My reference is several threads from here.

Certainly polish the carbon fiber props after balaclava.

Do yourself a favor and drop the carbon fiber. Only use DJI props. My reference is several threads from here.

Certainly polish the carbon fiber props after balaclava.

Thanks. My experience with them though is they're a little bouncy and soft. I picked up a couple carbon fiber sets along with some other accessories and after my first attempt at balancing them the phantom seemed to fly way better. Less vibration, faster acceleration, etc... I was hoping to shoot a quick video doing a more scientific comparison of a few but wanted to make sure i was doing the balancing correct first.

So it sounds like yes to polishing, but I'm still not sure how. Is there a special polishing compound i should use? Are they supposed to be sanded with 2000grit or something first?