Problems right out of the box.

Reaction score
Greetings, I'm a drone newbie and just discovered this forum while researching the problems I'm having with my new drone. Thanks in advance for any and all advice! So I just unpacked and set up my "new" Phantom 2. Don't laugh too hard - at $400, it sounded like a great and inexpensive way to get started with a semi-serious drone and get my Hero 4 airborne. Alas, fresh out of the box, after installing the gimbal (works great) and updating the firmware, I took the rig out to my driveway just to spin up the props. I pulled "down and inward" on the control sticks, as per the instructions. But alas, only two of the props, both on the right side of the drone, spun up. The other two motors appear to be getting power, but they just vibrate erratically and fail to get the props spinning. Am I doing something wrong, or do I have a dud right out of the box? If the former, perhaps one of you experienced flyers can point out the error of my ways. If the latter, I'll probably just pack it up and send it back to Amazon. The battery they sent with the drone was also dead (the backup I bought works fine), so I have plenty of reasons to just return it and be done with it. Just want to make sure it's not me doing something wrong. Thanks again for any help you can provide.

R