Problem with firmware on my p3 pro won't take

Reaction score
Hey im new to phantom 3 pro was given one in great shape from a friend who doesnt use it and was sick of firmware updates. I had to update the firmware went well with the coptor no problems but when trying to update the controller ut didnt take the update . Trued sd card tried from the coptor with usb cable . Also brought it to a supposed dji certified repair shop in town they couldnt get it to take either . Im wondering if i buy another controller would that be my easiest way out and will need anything else to link the new xontroller with my coptor. Thanks for any help at wits end .

The RC is updated though the app, not via SD card since about 3 releases back I believe.

Reactions: Oso
The RC is updated though the app, not via SD card since about 3 releases back I believe.
Actually the SD card method for RC updating hasn't been correct since Q3 2015, so about 7 or 8 FW versions back! Time flies, eh?

Hey im new to phantom 3 pro was given one in great shape from a friend who doesnt use it and was sick of firmware updates. I had to update the firmware went well with the coptor no problems but when trying to update the controller ut didnt take the update . Trued sd card tried from the coptor with usb cable . Also brought it to a supposed dji certified repair shop in town they couldnt get it to take either . Im wondering if i buy another controller would that be my easiest way out and will need anything else to link the new xontroller with my coptor. Thanks for any help at wits end .
Welcome to the forum!

As noted, using an SD card to update the RC is no longer the correct method unless you have RC FW that is about 3 year old. It's remarkable that a DJI certified repair shop did not know the correct method.

The most often referenced FW update steps are located here.

If you are interested, click here for some tips that I often share with new P3A/P3P owners.

Cheers!

Reactions: GrammatonxXXxCleric