Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Powering GoPro with Phantom or not?

Discussion in 'FPV (First Person View)' started by creativedogmedia, Nov 12, 2014.

  1. creativedogmedia

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2014
    Messages:
    339
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    Virginia
    How many folks are using the scotch tape mod that allows you to NOT use the P2 as a power source for the GoPro? Just curious how much it impacts flight times....I would also hate to be filming and lose GoPro battery without knowing it.
     
  2. Buk

    Buk

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2013
    Messages:
    673
    Likes Received:
    36
    Location:
    Iowa, United States
    Scotch tape mod ?

    Link please.
     
  3. p fandango

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2014
    Messages:
    599
    Likes Received:
    27
    Location:
    Coventry, UK
    I let mine power off it
     
  4. creativedogmedia

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2014
    Messages:
    339
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    Virginia
  5. SteveMann

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2014
    Messages:
    1,989
    Likes Received:
    670
    Location:
    Westford, MA
    I think I can live with losing the 30-seconds of flight time by letting the Phantom provide the GoPro with power.
     
  6. creativedogmedia

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2014
    Messages:
    339
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    Virginia
    Ha! That could be the difference between swimming or landing.
     
  7. smallman28

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2014
    Messages:
    168
    Likes Received:
    4
    The only reason I did the mod was due to the interference I was getting.
    For some reason as well the interference on the Gopro 4 is way worse than it was on the Gopro 3+
     
  8. CameraGuy

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2013
    Messages:
    318
    Likes Received:
    1
    I'm using a battery in the GoPro. You can't stop the Phantom from sending power, but I figure the GoPro's battery doesn't take up much weight, and supplies all the power that is needed.

    Just my 2 cents
     
  9. Damon

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2014
    Messages:
    674
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Eastern Wa.
    That's what the tape mod does...it stops power being sent to battery, but allows video to transfer through ribbon cable.

    2 more cents here..
     
Loading...
Similar Threads - Powering GoPro Phantom Forum Date
Powering the GoPro via the gimbal? Zenmuse H3-3D/H4-3D GoPro Gimbal Dec 19, 2014
Powering a GoPro Zenmuse H3-3D/H4-3D GoPro Gimbal Jun 20, 2014
H3-2D gimbal not powering on GoPro Zenmuse H3-2D GoPro Gimbal Apr 3, 2014
GoPro Powering Off Photos and Video Mar 28, 2014
Powering a fpv camera not.gopro Phantom 2 Discussion Feb 7, 2014