Possible 4.02 issue

Reaction score
Hey guys,

Something seems really off with 4.02.

I have been flying my Phantom for a few months and I would consider myself a pretty good pilot. I know what my Phantom can do and I have not crashed in a long time. I also do regular maintenance on my Phantom. I upgraded to 4.02 yesterday and took it for a flight today. I flew around for about 4-5 minutes and as I came back in the 1st level voltage alarm kicked in. All of a sudden my Phantom turned to stone and crashed.

I now have a crushed landing skid, broken prop guard, and it looks like I may have an issue with my Tarot gimbal. I want to jump on 4.02 being the issue because it seemed to be a bit buggy when it came to flying the F550 that I am building. All of the controls were fine on 4.0 and then they were totally reversed when I updated the F550 to 4.02.

I've only flown once with 4.02 but I noticed my 2nd warning auto-land was much more rapid than before. I need more flights with 4.02 though to tell for sure.

Gizmo3000 said:
they say you need to install the Phantom default settings once you update a Phantom to 4.0/4.02
maybe your voltages setting were wonky.

4.02 kept my settings so I did not worry about it. It also flew fine for a while before it lost all power. Maybe I should try that after I fix the mess that my Phantom is in. The Gimbal is fixed. but my gopro's housing is scratched. :(

I checked the lipos and they are at 57%. I had plenty of juice in the batteries so I am still guessing that there is something terribly wrong with 4.02.

sundara nēvalā said:
in my district no good pilots has prop guards. they crutches of newbie story not make senses.

I have lights mounted on the prop guards. Flying at night is fun. :lol:

sundara nēvalā said:
in my district no good pilots has prop guards. they crutches of newbie story not make senses.