Pointing Antenna(s) at Phantom

Reaction score
Pretty much most of us have tried to explain and refer people with distance issues to how the TX unit radiates the signal. Its not the easiest thing to explain in text.

Tonight I threw together a quick illustration to show someone. Feel free to steal and use it. Comments to improve are welcome.

Attachments

• Phantomcontrol.jpg
    Phantomcontrol.jpg
    174.4 KB · Views: 1,133
I did EXACTLY as this shows. But I found it hard to take off and land with my thumb sitting right there. Thoughts? Maybe I am using the wrong thumb. Or is that a toe?

Very nice and spot on. But you will have to do like someone once said to me, ....that demonstration is only for the stock antennas.

My red and yellow arrows are swapped. Will that make it fly upside down?

Newbie here.. I understand from this and previous discussions that the antenna should be perpendicular to an invisible line drawn from yourself to the UAV. Using the above photo as reference, this would require a drastic tilt of the RC or repositioning of the antenna if the UAV was at very high altitude overhead. Assuming the perpendicular antenna requirement, I'm wondering why positioning the antenna horizontally (bent to the side 90 degrees like when you store it in a case) wouldn't be the optimal position since it would always be perpendicular to the UAV while you generally face it no matter at what altitude it is in the sky.

MapMaker53 said: