Picture breaking up in 50m with FPV set up

Reaction score
I'm on my 2nd week of having my first Phantom 2 and I'm having a few early issues. I have a Phantom 2 FPV kit with Zenmuse gimbal, immersion Rc 600mw 5.8Ghz Video Transmitter, and Black Pearl 5.8Ghz 32 Channel Diversity 7" Monitor. I get a lot of picture break up and noise when the phantom is about 50m away or more. I was out in open fields away from obvious interference on each occasion when trying it. I spoke to the company who I got the kit from and they said this is normal. They did suggest trying different aerials but didnt give me the impression that I should be getting greater clear viewing distances on a regular basis. Is this right? I am very new to this, so any advice would be appreciated.

Sounds like you're 1 channel off on either the transmitter or receiver.
For example; some transmitters broadcast on 5740, but your monitor may only receiver 5745(non US frequency). I would run through the frequency channel selector on the monitor, and see which looks the cleanest.
Also, double check the frequency list on both the transmitter and receiver to make certain you can have the correct frequencies on both.

Some models only broadcast with the xxx5...and some are xxx0.
Are you going vertically, above your head? That's probably the poorest area for reception.
The only other solution would be to change both antenna's to Circular Polarizing Antenna's. Make certain you get the correct connectors(SMA have the little pin in the middle, RP-SMA have no pin, only a hole in the center).
Sometimes, the Transmitter only takes RP-SMA, and the receiver will take SMA. you can get an adapter.

Do a search of Circular Polarizing Antenna's, 5.8Ghz-and you'll find plenty of threads and information to help you.

I get over 700 meters and still have good video-using a TS-832 Transmitter, and a generic 7" "dual-diversity" antenna receiver.