Photographer needs some advice!

IBP

Reaction score
Hey everyone,

I just stumbled upon your forum and so I'm not familiar with the workings of it, but I'm hoping you guys might be able to guide me in the right direction. I'm actually a photography student and I am coming up with a new idea for a project. My dilemma is that I want to fly a speed-light and trigger it remotely from he ground. There wouldn't be any camera fly,ing just a strobe and transmitter to trigger the strobe. My whole lighting setup would weight about 23 ounces (about 630 grams) ready to fly. I was noticing that the Phantom 2 is only rated to about 300 grams of payload? I would prefer not to spring thousands of dollars on a set up that I will only use for 4 months, but i'm hoping you guys can help guide me in the right direction to something that might be able to lift something like this. Like I said, I'm super new to the whole UAV/Drone (I don't even completely know the correct terminology), and I would love some advice!

Thanks!

I'll also note that I am a pretty novice pilot ( I would be the one flying it, everyone take a few steps back!!!!), I have flows a few RC helis in the past, but that was a while ago. So something easy to fly would also be a plus. I know there would be some modification to the system to make my stuff fit on, that's not a problem for me, I have enough zip-ties and duct take to tape an elephant to the ceiling!

Welcome to the forum.
Please put your location in your profile, there may be other Phantom owners near you who could help.

What is the power source for your Speedlight? You may be able to reduce weight by using the Phantom battery, although at a shorter flight time.

Use a lightstand or a boom pole. Unless you fly a 400ws strobe, you'd be plagued by problems with hard shadows, trying to keep your drone steady, and the risk of the drone hitting your subject. Unless you really have to, I would recommend against it.