phantom Vision+ v h3-3d with go pro and use with pix4d

Reaction score
Hi folks, newbie here so go easy!

I am intrigued with the potential use of drones for a couple of projects I am looking at. I've decided to go for a phantom but not decided on whether to go with the vision plus or the h3-3d with go pro. I'll be using it for surveying purposes (once passed necessary courses) and to render into 3d images and CAD. I like the simplicity of going for the vision but also the flexibility of being able to use a gopro for other uses.

Does anyone have any suggestions for which set up would be easier for using with a package such as pix4d? Or any suggestions for alternatives to pix4d?

Thank you for reading and any suggestions!

Hello!

I am a developper of Pix4Dmapper Capture (http://pix4d.com/pix4dmapper-app/), which allows you to take pictures autonomously and then feed them into Pix4Dmapper Desktop for the mapping and 3D models.

If you want to use our App for planning the mission and taking the pictures, then you need the Vision+, because the App cannot control the GoPro. For surveying using a Phantom, that is the best choice.

Now, if you really want the h3-3d with GoPro, you can still set up the GoPro to take one picture every few seconds, fly manually, and then feed those images to Pix4Dmapper Desktop, but it will be more difficult to get a good reconstruction (it is not so easy to take a good set of images for reconstruction, which is why we created the App).

JonasPix4D, could your app control a GoPro if installed along with the Quickrelease?

I am not sure, but apparently with the Quickrelease you only get the video stream on the DJI Vision App. To take pictures, they say that you have to use the "smart remote".

So I would say that the App will not be able to take pictures, and therefore that might prevent it from doing anything useful at all. Also, we don't support the Quickrelease.