Phantom P2 won't acquire satellites

Reaction score
Hi

I'm very new to quad flying. I received my Phantom P2 last tuesday. I have a problem with green/blue colors so its difficult for me to see the yellow flying lights and then the green. But besides that issue. When I turn on the transmitter, then turn on the P2 I wait for it to acquire satellites which would show as rapid blinking. So even if i cant see its yellow I know it acquired at least 6 satellites and now I can flip the S1 on my transmitter 6 or 7 times until the color is solid. then rotate horizontally then when its green then vertically. The problem is it never acquires satellites. I wait like 3 minutes. Im in the Bronx, I know its not the most suitable place to fly, but according to my android app theres 10-15 satellites in view here.

I downloaded the Assistant software and may have updated the firmware by mistake, Im not sure. But before I updated anything there was a message about a "firmware mismatch". Its still there. it also says your P2 isnt calibrated due to magnetic interference, please re-calibrate.

I'm close to returning the P2. I really don't want to. I already bought the HERO 3+ and was looking forward to taking aerial videos with the Zenmuse gimbal. Does anybody have any ideas on how I can get the P2 to acquire? Thanks in advance.

This is only my opinion,
But sounds like mostly compass calibration, and poor satellite signals!

I will say when I updated my firmware, it told me firmware mis-match as we'll, and after upgrade assistant said recalibrate.
I ( again only my opinion, and what I would do! )
1) make sure you have latest PC ASSISTANT SOFTWARE!
2) start phantom ( NO PROPS ) ( start controller, range extender, and P2 )
3) hook P2 to PC ASSISTANT
4) download LATEST driver
5) update any firmware not updated ( you can check under assistant )
6) RECALIBRATE CONTROLLER ( with PC ASSISTANT )
7) DOUBLE CHECK everything is up to date
8) turn off and unhook from PC