Phantom goes crazy when rotating

Reaction score
Hello everyone.

Since I'm new to Phantom and quadcopters I don't know if this behavior is normal or not.

When I am flying with the Phantom and try to do a full rotation on the same exact point (moving only left stick to the right or to the left) the Phantom moves to any of the sides and doesn't stop until I correct it's position.

I could do a full rotation once ( I was flying above 70 feet ) and It didn't show this strange behavior, I didn't crash yet so I don't think it's due to any defective part.

I'm flying in GPS Mode and have already tried to do the IMU Calibration and do the Compass calibration everytime before my flights.

Any suggestion or explanation would be great.

Thanks.

Could it be your small muscle coordination?

I know I try really hard to rotate the Phantom slowly, but not a slowly as I have seen some pilots do it.

GPS mode is safest, although no one is saying they have the flyaway problem solved.

I just wish DJI would admit the fly away problem.

D

This has been discussed here before. It seems, when rotating, GPS is turned off. As soon as you are done rotating, if the wind blew it a distance, it will automatically fly back to where it was when you started the rotation.

We're not sure why it behaves this way.

Could be my fault, I don't know how to fly very well but I'm getting used to.

Actually the question should be if this is a normal behavior since I could do a full rotation once without any kind of fly away problem or if it's just my lack of experience.

Darrell1 said:
This has been discussed here before. It seems, when rotating, GPS is turned off. As soon as you are done rotating, if the wind blew it a distance, it will automatically fly back to where it was when you started the rotation.

We're not sure why it behaves this way.

Well I missed that discussion!