Phantom 4 Travelling Concerns

Reaction score
Hi all,

Im close to purchasing a Phantom 4 as my first drone, but as a noob, I was hoping that someone may be able to help me with regards to a couple of queries I have.

I travel to North America a lot and plan to take my drone with me from the UK whenever I can and as you have to register any drone if its being used in the U.S, does that mean I can register my drone for use in North America even if I don't live in the country ill be using it in?

Also, how are airports with taking drones in either hand luggage or in a checked-in suitcase for example?

Sorry for the (more than likely) stupid questions and thanks for your time.

Gari.

I travel to North America a lot and plan to take my drone with me from the UK whenever I can and as you have to register any drone if its being used in the U.S, does that mean I can register my drone for use in North America even if I don't live in the country ill be using it in?
Yes. You can register on the FAA's website here once you arrive in the US.

how are airports with taking drones in either hand luggage or in a checked-in suitcase for example?
You can check anything but the Phantom batteries. Those must be in your carry-on bag and the battery terminals must be covered.

Reactions: Gari Clark

You can check anything but the Phantom batteries. Those must be in your carry-on bag and the battery terminals must be covered.

Hi,

Thanks for the quick reply as thats helped me massively.

Regarding covering up the battery terminals, whats the most commonly way of doing it? something like tape for example?

Thanks again.

Tape, a plastic Ziploc bag, or a battery cover like this would be fine. You just want to ensure the battery terminals cannot come into contact with anything.

Reactions: Gari Clark