Phantom 3 Standard - Prop balance checks

Joined
Oct 14, 2016
Messages
4,018
Reaction score
1,796
Age
63
Location
UK Brit living Latvia
Question : What prop balancer do you use to check your props ?

Why do I ask ? I have various balncers but all rely on fact of passing an axle THROUGH the prop. But the Phantom props have the silver and black caps on that mean axle cannot pass through.

I resorted to using a small cross point screwdriver vertical and letting the prop centre itself on the tip. All props sat nicely level. But I'm sure there must be a proper item to do this ?

Nigel
 

msinger

Approved Vendor
Joined
Oct 30, 2014
Messages
31,044
Reaction score
10,307
Location
Harrisburg, PA (US)
I usually use my SpeedyTM prop balancer. You can find some other commonly used prop balancers and prop rods here.

As for balancing the props, this is how I do it:

 
  • Like
Reactions: gvsukids
Joined
Oct 14, 2016
Messages
4,018
Reaction score
1,796
Age
63
Location
UK Brit living Latvia
I usually use my SpeedyTM prop balancer. You can find some other commonly used prop balancers and prop rods here.

As for balancing the props, this is how I do it:

Many thanks for speedy reply ... and appreciated.

I do have a couple of comments though ... when you first show the axle with cones on - you show both cones points inwards. APC etc. advise one cone point into rear of prop hub, front cone to have flat against prop hub. Because the rear shaft hole is centred accurately but front may not be.

Second the way of fixing tape 'along the blade' ... I fly helicopters as well as fixed wing and usual practice is to fold a length ACROSS the blade width starting and ending at trailing edge of blade. This then stops any 'ridge effect' to airflow on the blade ...

Just comments and not meant in any way to be rude.

Back to balancing - as you show - the problem is that the axle cannot be passed all way through as with a normal prop.

As to fitting props ... my props as new out of box - all 8 of them spin up very easy, in fact I don't see any indication of tightness at all ... a quick flick with a finger and they spin all the way home.

Nigel
 

msinger

Approved Vendor
Joined
Oct 30, 2014
Messages
31,044
Reaction score
10,307
Location
Harrisburg, PA (US)
No worries. That's not my video.

There are no Phantom prop rods that pass all the way through the prop.
 
Joined
May 30, 2016
Messages
1,751
Reaction score
487
Location
Lancaster, Pa.
Question : What prop balancer do you use to check your props ?

Why do I ask ? I have various balncers but all rely on fact of passing an axle THROUGH the prop. But the Phantom props have the silver and black caps on that mean axle cannot pass through.

I resorted to using a small cross point screwdriver vertical and letting the prop centre itself on the tip. All props sat nicely level. But I'm sure there must be a proper item to do this ?

Nigel
Here you go, it comes with the required rod for the DJI props.
https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B019SC4KC4/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o06_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1
 
Joined
Oct 1, 2016
Messages
24
Reaction score
9
Age
50
I use this rod and this balancer.

The rod has a left handed thread on one end and a right handed thread on the other, and rests on the balancing wheels
 
Joined
May 30, 2016
Messages
1,751
Reaction score
487
Location
Lancaster, Pa.

New Threads

Forum statistics

Threads
136,109
Messages
1,407,677
Members
99,043
Latest member
JbroDrone