Phantom 3 Advanced losing signal during flight

Reaction score
Hey all,

I am a new Phantom 3 pilot and I have experienced two signal loss issues within my last 20 flights. The first instance happened when I was flying in a park with clear skies and low wind. The drone was about 200ft up and maybe 300-400 feet away. I was recording some video and flying in GPS mode and suddenly the video feed goes black and I get the signal lost message on the top of the screen. Luckily I was still getting speed, altitude, distance, and heading information so I was able to bring it back and land it safely. What really worried me about that instance was that the video feed didn't come back up until I powered off the drone and powered it back up.

The second instance was this past weekend when I took the drone out to a lake. I was about 200-300 feet up and around 1,000 ft away when I lost the video feed and the speed, heading and altitude information. Thankfully the controller was still connected with the drone so I was able to use the RTH button to bring it back. Once the drone was a little closer I regained video feed and flight data. When I looked at the video later I could see that the drone was reacting to my stick input even though I wasn't receiving data. Has anyone experienced this, and if so, how have you fixed it? Does this sound like a hardware problem or could it be something with the software? I am really worried about it being a hardware issue.

I am flying a Phantom 3 Advanced with the latest firmware. I am using an iPad mini to control it with the latest DJI app installed. I have also uninstalled the app and reinstalled it to make sure that it wasn't a bad install causing problems.

FPV loss is not entirely unusual, though it can be a bit scary at first. The latest firmware has been reported to cause problems with FPV. You can read some of the reports here in this thread:
Downlink Video completely unstable since upgrade | DJI Phantom Forum