Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Phantom 2 will not catch satellites

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Discussion' started by Big papa 269, Nov 6, 2015.

  1. Big papa 269

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2015
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    What can I do please
     
  2. J Dot

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2014
    Messages:
    2,078
    Likes Received:
    1,069
    Location:
    Sarasota, FL. USA!
    You'll need to OPEN up your phantom, check to see off GPS is plugged in, as well as compass, if both are OK, then you need to remove your GPS UNIT ( it is under the top shell! Once removed, check the CERAMIC ANTENNA ( square antenna on top of compass ) see if it is cracked!

    Let us know, thanks!

    J Dot
     
    Mako79 likes this.
  3. Big papa 269

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2015
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
  4. Mako79

    Joined:
    May 16, 2014
    Messages:
    3,523
    Likes Received:
    615
    Location:
    Sydney Australia
    If your motors start, then your GPS module is working and connected. However, if its not picking up sats, then you may of cracked the ceramic GPS antenna. Replace it with a $10 4mm puck to get an extra sat and faster lock times.
     
  5. kenjancef

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2015
    Messages:
    1,312
    Likes Received:
    266
    Location:
    East Providence, RI
    You, or anyone else, wouldn't happen to have a link to the 4mm GPS? I was thinking of doing the mod. Why not? I've already put a ton of money into my P2, what's another $10?? lol
     
  6. Mako79

    Joined:
    May 16, 2014
    Messages:
    3,523
    Likes Received:
    615
    Location:
    Sydney Australia
  7. kenjancef

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2015
    Messages:
    1,312
    Likes Received:
    266
    Location:
    East Providence, RI
  8. jason

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2014
    Messages:
    4,730
    Likes Received:
    480
    Location:
    Commerce Twp,MI
  9. J Dot

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2014
    Messages:
    2,078
    Likes Received:
    1,069
    Location:
    Sarasota, FL. USA!
    Here is the antenna you want
    [​IMG]

    Just type in those numbers/letters on bottom.

    Digikey.com
    Or
    Newark.com
    Or
    Mouser.com

    They all carry it, single band, 5dbi gain, 4mm thick.

    J Dot
     
  10. kenjancef

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2015
    Messages:
    1,312
    Likes Received:
    266
    Location:
    East Providence, RI
    Yep, I just ordered that one about 10 minutes ago. a whopping $5.08. I don't currently have any issues finding satellites, but it won't hurt to do the mod...
     
  11. J Dot

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2014
    Messages:
    2,078
    Likes Received:
    1,069
    Location:
    Sarasota, FL. USA!
  12. kenjancef

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2015
    Messages:
    1,312
    Likes Received:
    266
    Location:
    East Providence, RI
    I've seen those things before, as well as the copper foil mods. Will see about those... but thanks for the link though. I bookmarked it.
     
  13. J Dot

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2014
    Messages:
    2,078
    Likes Received:
    1,069
    Location:
    Sarasota, FL. USA!
    Yeah,
    Doing the antenna mod ( for ME ) did not give me more satellites, , still never got above 9 on a good day, BUT I did get them MUCH faster, plus it will get satellite lock INDOORS! I was surprised, next I did the booster mod ( link above ) went from 9 to 11 on a good day, I've seen up to 13 before, but rarely. However the booster mod ( DOES NOT VOID WARANTEE ) where copper foil mods DO. Just my input, I tried the foil mod with little to no results, but saw instant results on the booster insert. I went back and bought 3 more, before he calls it quits.
    Just my opinion, do what you want, but that is what my investigating has brought up.

    J Dot
     
Loading...
Similar Threads - Phantom catch satellites Forum Date
Skycatch works with phantom 4 pro +? Classifieds Apr 10, 2017
Phantom 4 hand catch problem Phantom 4 Discussion Oct 23, 2016
Issue with Hand Launching / Catching Phantom 4? Phantom 4 Discussion Mar 18, 2016
Can a Phantom 3 catch an Inspire 1? Photos and Video Sep 29, 2015
Catching a fish with a phantom General Discussion Sep 2, 2015