Phantom 2 Vision + range

Reaction score
Hi folks,

I'm new to all of this and I am looking for an idea of what is the normal range lateral and vertical of a standard Phantom 2 Vision +?

Mine starts RTH at about 200 mtrs lateral and 160 mfrs vertical with everything charged fully, the antenna and wi fi booster pointing towards the 'copter, the screw on the controller is turned for FCC and the range on the assistant is still set to default for 3.04 firmware.

Any comparable information from other standard un modded Phantom 2 Vision + users would be appreciated for troubleshooting if my range is as abnormal as I think it is from the manual.

Thanks in advance,

Dave

Davemc said:
Hi folks,

I'm new to all of this and I am looking for an idea of what is the normal range lateral and vertical of a standard Phantom 2 Vision +?

Mine starts RTH at about 200 mtrs lateral and 160 mfrs vertical with everything charged fully, the antenna and wi fi booster pointing towards the 'copter, the screw on the controller is turned for FCC and the range on the assistant is still set to default for 3.04 firmware.

Any comparable information from other standard un modded Phantom 2 Vision + users would be appreciated for troubleshooting if my range is as abnormal as I think it is from the manual.

Thanks in advance,

Dave

It's how you are pointing your antenna sounds like. Don't point there tip towards the phantom. Rather the side of the antenna. That should give you better range.

you want your antenna to be parallel with your phantoms landing gear like that :
bnvhjb.jpg

with a simple DIY reflector made out of can and a bit of carboard I can fly mine to over 1500m.
IMAG0733.jpg

IMAG0734.jpg

Davemc said:

I would be very disappointed if my Vision+ was performing that poorly. It may be that you have a bad controller or receiver?