Phantom 2 Vision + and Taranis RC with FR Sky X8R

Reaction score
Hi All,

I am looking for any HELP PLEASE on setting up my Phantom 2 Vision+ with a Taranis X9D and FR Sky XBR.

I am very new to this and it was suggested by one of the DJI dealers in Australia that I immediately get rid of the stock RC and replace it with a more professional reliable RC, no, really he actually insisted, suggested that the stock RC was a joke and 90% of the reason why people have so many problems with the Phantoms. ( His comments not mine, HE said great Quad, but the cheap RC was put in to allow them a Quad at the price point. )

Anyway enough of that, let me explain how far i have got.

I have got the X8R Receiver bound to the Taranis remote and all works well. ( As far as the binding part )

I then plugged the Taranis into the computer and ran the DJI "PT2" Software while the Phantom is connected via it's USB Communication port.

I then went to the Basic RC set up page and did a calibration ( which seemed to go all right ) I can see the Aileron, Rudder, Elevator and Throttle moving and I can get them to centre.

ok, at this point I can hear you saying to yourself, ok, so whats wrong then.

So I disconnect the Taranis from the computer Restart everything and I try to start the Phantom !!!!

Nothing, nada, nix, absolutely nothing, :evil: :twisted: :(

I can't get the motors to start. I have now pretty much spent 23 hours over 3 days on this issue and can't seem to find the problem.

Along the way i have however found a number of issues that we all need to know about if we can solve this problem.

I found these out by simply disconnecting the X8R Receiver and doing some tests on the Phantom with the stock RC, so here are some

1/. You can't start the Phantom unless the USB is disconnected from the computer
2/. You can't start the Phantom unless the GPS is Plugged into the control board.