Phantom 2 Standard - WiFi and Internet?

Reaction score
Hi, I am new to this so forgive me if this is a stupid question!

I have ordered a Phantom3 Standard and while waiting for it to arrive I've downloaded the manual and read it cover to cover several times.

I intend to use a Samsung S4 phone or, more likely, an Asus Nexus7 with the app.

My questions are about Wifi, internet connection and the DJI Go app that don't seem to be explained in the manual.

1. Does the Map feature rely on internet to connect to Google Maps?
2. As the mobile device is connected by WiFi to the drone, how do I get a connection to the internet?
3. Do I need to be flying in an area with a good WiFi internet connection to use Maps and live streaming?
4. Do I need to use WiFi for the drone link and mobile data on my phone for internet connection. (obviously the Nexus7 doesn't have mobile data)?

The manual simply says you can do this and you can do that but nowhere does it explain how to have a Wifi connection to the drone and a data connection to the internet at the same time

Sorry if this has been answered elsewhere or I am just being dumb.

Thanks for any helpful answers.

Nigel

Last edited:
Does the Map feature rely on internet to connect to Google Maps?
Yes. You can cache the maps in DJI GO while your have an Internet connection before you head out to fly. Or, you could use a mobile device that has a cellular connection.

As the mobile device is connected by WiFi to the drone, how do I get a connection to the internet?
You'll need a mobile device that has a cellular connection.

Do I need to be flying in an area with a good WiFi internet connection to use Maps and live streaming?
For the maps, the map images just need to be cached. You will need an active Internet connection in order to stream video footage to YouTube though.

Do I need to use WiFi for the drone link and mobile data on my phone for internet connection. (obviously the Nexus7 doesn't have mobile data)?
Yes.