Phantom 2 or Naza M Flight Mode?

Reaction score
Hi all, Newbie here. Just recieved my Phantom 2 today. Been lurking here for about a month trying the learn everything I can. What I'm still unclear about is the difference between Phantom mode and Naza mode. Which one is commonly used? What's the difference? I did a search here but it wasn't much help. Sorry if this question has already been asked a million times. If there is a thread about this, please point me to it. Thanks!

Got this from the manual. Kind of answers my question but why do they suggest not using Naza mode until you're experienced? I've flown RC aircraft a lot, just never the Phantom. Still unclear about what the difference between the two is.

"Users should not enable the Naza-M function before finishing Advanced Flight Maneuvers
procedure in the " PHANTOM Pilot Training Guide”. If the Naza-M mode is enabled, users can
switch the control mode between ATTI. Mode, GPS Mode or Manual Mode, and access the
advanced settings (e.g. IOC). In addition, the LED located on the rear frame arms will display
Naza-M flight status indications instead of the PHANTOM 2's indicators. Do not enable the
Naza-M mode unless you are an experienced user or guided by a professional.
(2) You can change to the Phantom 2 mode by clicking the same button used to turn on the Naza-M
mode. This operation will disable the Naza-M mode and enable Phantom 2 mode. All parameters
will be returned to factory settings."

The manual has pretty scant info on this. Phantom mode is the dumbed down no options mode for use out-of-the-box by people who've never flown anything before. It keeps them out of trouble by limiting them to only GPS mode. S1 and S2 do almost nothing.

Naza M mode enables ATTI, failsafe/manual, and the IOC modes of home lock and course lock via S1 and S2. For details on those functions, the manual and other threads here should give you plenty of detail. Also, note the light indications are different in Naza M mode.