Phantom 1 newbie needs help

Reaction score
Hello all! I am basically a drone newbie, so be gentle. I purchased a used P1 just to see if I was going to like the drone phase and not put a lot of money into a hobby not knowing if I was going to like it or not so that's why i bought a used P1.

So far i have tested it out and it seems to work but I really don't know anything about the firmware and software part of it all, not sure what i need to download so i really need some help here.

I downloaded "NAZA-M V2" and when i start that it says skip and then goes to like a program screen which i have no idea of how to use.

I guess i will await some help with this first before i ask anything else.

Thanks in advance.

Billiam151

you need to plug the drone into your computer via the USB. Then the software will recognise your drone, then go to the update page and follow the instructions.

The DJi wiki details everything you need.

I wouldn't update anything unless you have a need to. Which P1 do you have? The latest is Phantom 1.1.1. I got my first P1 1.1.1 in April of 2014. It's running ver 4.00. Bought 2 more in 2015 running 4.02. I haven't updated any of them and they are still flying great. Connecting to the assistant software lets you make many changes. Too much to type out. There are many videos on youtube that will walk you through. There is no need to update unless it solves a problem you are having. Somewhere on the DJI ...it states what the upgrade changes are. Once into the software, if you have a particular question about a feature...then ask.