Phantom 1 Lipo battery advice?

Reaction score
What is a popular Lipo battery that will fit the Phantom 1 battery compartment? I'm still learning about the different characteristics of Lipos, 3S, 25C, 35C 2400mAh, 2700mAh etc.
I bought a couple of the Mad Dog 25C 2700 mAh. The fit was tight to begin with. They've since expanded a little and will no longer fit the battery compartment.
Thanks...

What is a popular Lipo battery that will fit the Phantom 1 battery compartment? I'm still learning about the different characteristics of Lipos, 3S, 25C, 35C 2400mAh, 2700mAh etc.
I bought a couple of the Mad Dog 25C 2700 mAh. The fit was tight to begin with. They've since expanded a little and will no longer fit the battery compartment.
Thanks...

With a little bit of sanding or carving, however you choose to do it, the 2700 may once again slide into the compartment. Seems to me the opening is the smallest part of the compartment.

I've taken my Dremel to the FC40 and can fit the swollen Multistar 4000 with a bit of effort. Looks like my P1 is in the same shell, I haven't gotten around to grinding on it yet.

Some folks have poked a hole in the case of the battery and then carefully resealed it after letting the extra gas out. I have not tried doing that.

The they's say the battery swells because we mistreat them. I've drained some of mine a bit too much every now and then. They still work good and have lasted a long time.

For direct P1 replacement pack (brick) I use Hobby King Turnigy 20C 2200mAh. They can ship from USA and usually cost me about $10ea. Last 2qty were a little over $26 shipped.

https://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/store/uh_viewItem.asp?idProduct=59014

Great battery for the money and fits P1 with plenty of room to spare. I dunno about all the battery compartment mods. I just run stock P1 with 2.2Ah bricks for now.

I’m new to P1 but very experienced with RC Lipo and here’s my thoughts about longevity: