Part 107 vs 333 specific questions

Reaction score
I'm a private pilot with a 333 exemption, but I'm still waiting for my 107 to process. Anyway, just curious about a few of the rules. Under 333, you can't fly within 500' of people, structures, or vehicles that aren't part of the flight, however under 107, you CAN fly around structures and vehicles as I understand it.

Anyone confirm I'm reading this right? Any other major differences regarding the flight rules themselves? Can 333 still get verbal airspace clearance, or do have to do the online 3 month process???

As I understand it currently, as long as your 333 Exemption is still valid you may fly under it's terms. In the alternative, you can fly under Part 107 as long as you can comply with all the regs (or get waivers for those you can't). You cannot combine a 333 with a Part 107 flight, you may only conduct a flight under one or the other. I do not believe they will be renewing 333 exemptions, but that was a "last I heard" coming from the FAA. If your 333 allows flights in controlled airspace via verbal clearance from the tower, then use that. The 107 process for authorizations is a nightmare. A Part 107 waiver for flights in controlled airspace is a better way to go, but takes even longer than an authorization.

I re-read my 333, and it does require the COA just like a 107 (missed that previously). My 333 is good until March 2018, so sounds like I'm clear to fly under it until my 107 goes through.

My Private Pilot is still processing, so I couldn't submit my 107 online, so I'm in the normal FAA waiting period. Took 10 months to get my medical processed last year!