P4 Range Question (A serious one, not a bash)

Reaction score
Hello,

I realize there is a thread for this, however, I see that people are very irritated at the P4 range questions. I am very legitimate in my question. This is my first Phantom, so I am not comparing it to the P3 or earlier.

I am relatively new to quads. I purchased the P4 about a month ago. This past weekend, I was flying in a field close to my house. I was about 1000 feet out and under 100 foot in altitude. I first lost video and then a moment later the aircraft disconnected. RTH took over and in just a moment, I had video again and control of the P4. I also notice that often, my video appears pixelated and it will freeze and by the time it catches up the P4 has moved considerably from where it was when the video froze. I am just curious if others have this happen at a distance I would think was not that far. A local drone shop suggested I put the antenna boosters with the copper inside of them.

Does this sound like normal operation for the P4?

Were there any obstructions, eg. buildings, between you and the p4? at only a 100 ft altitude it would be easy to do. try flying a bit higher.

Last edited:
Hello,

I realize there is a thread for this, however, I see that people are very irritated at the P4 range questions. I am very legitimate in my question. This is my first Phantom, so I am not comparing it to the P3 or earlier.