P4 loss one prop after 5 minute flight, dropped 40 feet to ground

Reaction score
I bought my P4 just last week. I've maybe had 20 flights, I'm taking it all very slow. I fly high, and far over big forests. I'm very nervous about hitting things, since I'm still beginning, so I don't go near anything.

On my flight yesterday, coming back after flying for maybe 5 minutes (battery was full on take off), the p4 is still 30-50 feet up and very stable slowly on the way down. I'm coming down to land, and all of a sudden, one of the props flys off, and the P4 drops like a rock. The legs are pretty banged up, the gimbal looks to have taken some damage. Still haven't tried to turn it back on. I never found the prop, but I may go back tomorrow to look more. It's a very rocky spot out near an old mine. Not an easy place to look for a small white blade.

Has anyone heard of the props coming off?
Has anyone had any success with RMA process?
Has anyone had a wreck bad enough to require work. Was it your fault? Did you get it fixed?
What are my chances they are going to know that I didn't slam into something and break this? The video on the card won't play, but the video on my tablet, does show the end, but not the impact on the ground.

I spent 30 minutes trying to figure out if I put it half way on, and it just seems impossible. Either it's on or off...there really isn't an in between. I know these have been re-designed with p4 vs p3. There is no screwing action...just a half turn, like a pill bottle.

I've called DJI, and I guess they will be sending me an RMA number. 8 hours ago, and still have not received anything. It was in the wide open, and the prop flew off first, and then it dropped. 30 seconds earlier, it would have been impossible for me to see that level of detail, and likely never would have found the p4, since it is such think woods.

I'm really disappointed, and concerned these devices are not safe enough to be flown with any confidence.