Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

  1. TimF

    Joined:
    May 12, 2016
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi Everyone.
    I have just unboxed the P4, everything is charged, DJIGo App is installed on my Ipad mini4. I've calibrated it so green lights are shining.
    But, when I try to start the motors they don't start. The GOApp shows disconnected and there is no sign of signal for GPS, Remote or Battery levels. But the strange thing is that the Gimbal can be operated using the wheel on the remote.
    I have tried to download Assistant 2 but there seems to be a bug in this as well as it doesn't load so I cannot update the firmware.
    The little green light on the P4 shines brightly indicating that it is connected to the remote and the remote also has a green light.

    Am I doing something wrong ?? Or do you think it needs to go straight to the repair shop ??

    Thanks a lot for your advice

    Tim
     
  2. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    25,641
    Likes Received:
    7,780
    Location:
    Harrisburg, PA (US)
    Did you try upgrading the firmware from the DJI GO app?
     
  3. TimF

    Joined:
    May 12, 2016
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'll have a go I didn't know tht this was possible Thanks

    Actually I can't find it on the GoApp. Any chance you could tell me where it is ? Sorry
     
    #3 TimF, May 12, 2016
    Last edited: May 12, 2016
  4. sar104

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2014
    Messages:
    2,416
    Likes Received:
    803
    Location:
    Los Alamos, NM.
    Just to be clear - are you saying that the Go app is connected to the RC but the aircraft shows as disconnected in the app? If so, that was previously a symptom of having updated the RC firmware via the app without first updating the aircraft firmware. Did you update the RC firmware? If that is the problem, then a solution was to downgrade the RC firmware, at which point the app will see the aircraft again and you can upgrade the aircraft firmware before re-upgrading the RC.
     
  5. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    25,641
    Likes Received:
    7,780
    Location:
    Harrisburg, PA (US)
    To clarify, I was asking if you attempted to do it. Only installing the remote controller firmware could cause a problem like this.
     
  6. TimF

    Joined:
    May 12, 2016
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thats correct, the Go app is connected to the RC but the aorcraft shows as disconnected in the app. I didn't (and can't currently) update the firmware as assistant is also not working for me.. I'll try Phantom Helps suggestion of loading the drivers from my PC onto the SD card. But not sure how this will work.

    Thanks a lot for your help so far
     
  7. TimF

    Joined:
    May 12, 2016
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sorry I misunderstood, no no firmware updated at all. Fresh out of the box : -)
     
  8. John Locke

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2015
    Messages:
    4,424
    Likes Received:
    1,799
    Location:
    Yorba Linda, CA
    Where did you buy it? If you didn't buy direct from DJI, such as Apple or Best Buy, I would return it for a new unit. It should connect fresh from the box.
     
  9. Matt122;

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2016
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    30
  10. sar104

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2014
    Messages:
    2,416
    Likes Received:
    803
    Location:
    Los Alamos, NM.
    The problem occurs if you let the Go app update the RC firmware before you connect your mobile device directly to the aircraft to update its firmware. Are you sure that you didn't let it do that? As I said, you can also downgrade the RC firmware from the Go app if that did happen.
     
  11. DaddyT

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2017
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Has this problem been fixed? I recently have been only using my iphone and then went to use my ipad and the remote connected, but in the app, it shows disconnected when using the ipad, but i can switch back to my iphone and connects right away. Both iphone and ipad have all apps and ios updates done.
     
  12. RémyHeli

    Joined:
    May 23, 2016
    Messages:
    828
    Likes Received:
    177
    Has your ipad same language and region setting as iphone? Unexpected region can cause impossible dialog with craft dues to different character set.


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots
     
  13. DaddyT

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2017
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0


    Yes, i just checked them both to make sure.
     
  14. RémyHeli

    Joined:
    May 23, 2016
    Messages:
    828
    Likes Received:
    177
    May I suggest then to uninstall GO app, reboot device, and install again.


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots
     
  15. DaddyT

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2017
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0

    I did uninstall and reinstall, but i did NOT reboot in between, i will try that.
     
  16. RémyHeli

    Joined:
    May 23, 2016
    Messages:
    828
    Likes Received:
    177
    To cold boot your iPhone or iPad, hold down the power button and the home button together until your iPhone or iPad turns off (ignore the swipe to turn off if it appears).

    Of course assuming your iPad is listed as compatible and the usb-lightning cable is good (presume you use same with iPhone).

    If still doesn't work if would try to reset the iPad to factory setup as originally shipped by Apple as difficult to see what's wrong in it.


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots
     
    #16 RémyHeli, Feb 21, 2017
    Last edited: Feb 21, 2017
  17. DaddyT

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2017
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0

    Yeah there was a process shown in threads that required to go back to an earlier version of the app, other than that i have tried, deleting the app, using another cable, going back and forth from ipad to iphone, rebooting ipad. Will try to delete then reboot then reinstall this afternoon, but i'm afraid i'm either going to have to wait on another update to fix the issue, or revert to an earlier version.
     
  18. RémyHeli

    Joined:
    May 23, 2016
    Messages:
    828
    Likes Received:
    177
    Hey not sure you mention which iPad you have. And must be typically A7 or A8 processor for running without havoc.


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots
     
  19. DaddyT

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2017
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    iPad Air 2, A8x processor in it
     
  20. RémyHeli

    Joined:
    May 23, 2016
    Messages:
    828
    Likes Received:
    177
    It should definitively work like a charm. I no success you might want follow these instructions;



    I have now exhausted my suggestions about this iPad. Good luck!



    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots
     
Loading...
Similar Threads - Controller Connecting Forum Date
Issues with Controller not connecting to P3P Pro/Adv Discussion May 17, 2017
Standard Phantom 3 Standard Controller Not Connecting to App Phantom 3 Help May 4, 2017
Standard standard not connecting to controller Phantom 3 Help May 4, 2017
P4P controller not connecting with Bird Phantom 4 Pro Discussion Mar 30, 2017
Controller disconnecting during flight. Phantom 4 Discussion Feb 18, 2017