P4 1st flight jitters

Reaction score
OK ... I got myself a Phantom 4, basically still in the box with factory wrap. Still winter here, thus waiting for a spring-like day.

Watched a ton of videos (plan to watch more), and have an unresolved querie: Can the orientation of the aircraft be adjusted while moving? Specifically, while flying forward (right controller stick pressed forward), can I touch the left stick (i.e. move it to the left) to cause the orientation to become at an angle (orientation & forward flight shifts to a direction, angled to the left)? The video I've seen thus far does show ratation in place using only the left controller stick, but if aircraft is moving forward, and thie stick is pressed, what is the effect?

P.S. As a beginner, I figure taking precautions to utilize the Phantom 4 sensors to detect and avoid obstacles is likely a very good plan :)

The video I've seen thus far does show ratation in place using only the left controller stick, but if aircraft is moving forward, and thie stick is pressed, what is the effect?
Using stick mode 2 (the default), the aircraft would yaw to the right/left and would continue heading in the direction it's facing.

Can the orientation of the aircraft be adjusted while moving? Specifically, while flying forward (right controller stick pressed forward), can I touch the left stick (i.e. move it to the left)
You can use any combination of both joysticks to carry out complex 3D movements.
With practice it will all become clear to you.
P.S. As a beginner, I figure taking precautions to utilize the Phantom 4 sensors to detect and avoid obstacles is likely a very good plan
A much better plan is to do your early flying in a large, open area where there is nothing to hit.
Keep well away from buildings, trees etc.

Use the Simulator that comes with it (Be sure the drone is also turned on.). That way you'll learn what the sticks do in unison, like fly a circle.

Reactions: DanMan32