P3S - RTH and Multiple Flight Modes

Reaction score
Hi All, Newbie here,

I have a questions that may have been answered already so sorry if I'm doubling up here.

Can the Return to Home function be activated whilst in a Multiple Flight Mode such as "Waypoint Mode"
than cancelled to regain full control?

I had a situation where I had to abort a Waypoint session and activated the RTH fuction. This avoided the imediate situation which worked prefectly, so I then cancelled RTH to regain control and the Phantom started heading straight back to where I had activated the RTH fuction avoiding the situation in the first place.

Any claification would be good.
thanks
Greg

That is strange behavior. Maybe you could tell us exactly what you did step by step.

When you say you "abort a waypoints mission", what exactly did you do to abort the waypoints mission? Be specific.

to abort, I toggled the S2 switch to activate RTH. This sent the bird up to RTH altitude (30mtrs). Once the bird was clear of the obstacle I cancelled RTH to control and that's when it reverted back to "Waypoints Mode"
I hope that makes things a little clearer.

Could it be the S2 switch doesn't abort the mission but just ignores it as it goes into RTH mode? Therefore it continued the mission after you cancelled RTH? I don't have a P3...

certainly looks like this is the case, something I'm going to test a bit further under a controlled condition.

Yeah u were smart too rth to avoid your obstacle but after cancelling rth u have to still cancel mission

Yeah u were smart too rth to avoid your obstacle but after cancelling rth u have to still cancel mission
thank you, something didn't know. Will certainly remember that, almost lost it for a 2nd time.:eek:, all ended well though.

What was it that got in your way?

What was it that got in your way?