P3P Firmware & Other Questions

Reaction score
Just received my P3P & have some questions. Reading so much about fly aways, loosing power, batteries, etc... I am new to DJI & have concerns, want to ensure that this bird stays in the air. I wanted to upgrade so that's why I purchased the P3P. At present I own a Blade Chroma, have over 100hrs in the air without one issue. Right out of the box it was airworthy & has performed flawlessly. This is my 2nd P3P, the first one had issues & had to be returned. With that said here are my questions I hope to get some answers.

1. Do I have to update to v1.6 or can I fly it as is?
2. If I do the update to v1.6 does the battery automatically update as well? If not how do I do that?
3. I purchased a 2nd battery, will it update automatically once installed in the newly updated firmware on my
P3P?
4. If I don't do the firmware update does the 2nd battery update to the firmware that was originally installed or
is there something I need to do?
5. I have a Nvidia Shield for my tablet & it is a bit heavy (Wobbly) mounted on the controller, has
anyone figured out how to secure their tablets better?

Looking forward to hearing your comments, thanks...jp

Do I have to update to v1.6 or can I fly it as is?
No. All firmware updates are optional. The DJI GO app will display a message when an update is available, but you can just ignore it if you don't want to install it.

If you decide to update your firmware, you can find detailed firmware installation instructions here.

If I do the update to v1.6 does the battery automatically update as well? If not how do I do that?
The firmware will be automatically installed on the battery that you're using when installing the firmware on your Phantom.

I purchased a 2nd battery, will it update automatically once installed in the newly updated firmware on my P3P?
It will if you keep the BIN on your memory card. Otherwise, follow these instructions.