Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

P3A modes

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by deltamike, Jun 17, 2016.

  1. deltamike

    Joined:
    May 12, 2014
    Messages:
    712
    Likes Received:
    182
    Location:
    Shropshire (UK)
    Sorry to be a PITA but I am still trying to get my head around the modes.

    The manual had me lost so I made myself a précis of them in an attempt to understand them.

    Is the following true and right please.


    P3A MODES

    P-mode.
    Phantom will automatically switch from P-GPS to P-OPTI when the GPS signal is not sufficient.
    A/c will switch to ATTI manual if GPS or Vision Positioning are not available.

    A - Atti mode. (MANUAL MODE)

    This is the manual flight mode and the GPS is not controlling the aircraft.
    A/C is being controlled manually with the Controller. The aircraft is subject to
    wind and will drift with the prevailing breezes if not controlled.
    Will not stop on its own when moving as the braking system is disabled.

    F - Mode is IOC

    F Mode has to be turned on in the Go app. to be active.

    The RTH works in A & F mode if GPS available.

    Thanks
     
  2. Vertigo

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2016
    Messages:
    499
    Likes Received:
    150
    Still have to chuckle that attitude mode is called "manual" around here. Anyone who's ever flown a miniquad with naze32 or similar will know what world of difference there is between manual and attitude. Not much manual when the quad self levels when you center the sticks and even keeps its altitude. Oh horror, it drifts in the wind! Spoiled brats ;).

    I think your summary is correct BTW.
     
    deltamike likes this.
  3. deltamike

    Joined:
    May 12, 2014
    Messages:
    712
    Likes Received:
    182
    Location:
    Shropshire (UK)
    Thanks Vertigo.

    Just another thought. If the RTH works in Atti mode and the GPS is disabled, how does the a/c know where the home point is. I thought the home point is recorded with the aid of GPS.
     
  4. Meta4

    Meta4 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2014
    Messages:
    9,859
    Likes Received:
    4,804
    The GPS isn't disabled ... it's always on.
    But in atti mode the flight controller just doesn't use the data from the GPS.
    Then if the Phantom loses signal and goes to RTH .... it uses GPS data.
     
  5. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    25,192
    Likes Received:
    7,641
    Location:
    Harrisburg, PA (US)
    GPS is not disabled. Your Phantom just doesn't use it to hold its position when flying in ATTI mode. If you're in ATTI mode and RTH is initiated, it'll then start using the GPS data to guide itself back to the home point.
     
  6. deltamike

    Joined:
    May 12, 2014
    Messages:
    712
    Likes Received:
    182
    Location:
    Shropshire (UK)
    Thanks guys.
     
Loading...
Similar Threads - P3A modes Forum Date
P3A or hold out for Mavic General Discussion Yesterday at 11:06 AM
Last ditch try on fixing my P3A camera Pro/Adv Discussion Monday at 5:14 PM
new update v1 .11.20 p3adv Pro/Adv Discussion Monday at 4:19 PM
P3A Won't connect to controller Pro/Adv Discussion Sunday at 8:15 AM
Busted gimble P3A Pro/Adv Discussion Friday at 11:55 PM