P3A Disconnects - A Noob Asks!

Reaction score
Hi all

I daresay this has been answered and there's a million different potential answers. I have Googled and searched however I don't always quite understand the lingo so was hoping that people don't mind if I start a new thread to ask. I'm a noob here - 2 flights in with any drone ever. Second flight I went down to a local (isolated) beach. Flew it out about 30 metres in front of me and to an altitude of about 60m. Using it with an Oppo R11.

When I reached this point, the screen told me that it was 'disconnected'. The AC didn't start to return and after a couple of seconds of "OH MY GOD!" and not responding (or it felt as if it wasn't) I was able to bring it home using the control sticks as RTH did nothing. From memory after a few seconds the screen went blank as if I hadn't been using my phone. Once safely down I powered down both the AC and RC and once restarted it seemed to fly okay again. Only then did the 'Disconnected' message disappear.

I guess I'd like to know:
a) What could be causing it to do such a thing as such close range and what can I do to prevent it happening again?
b) If it does happen and I lose control, what are my options to bring it home?

Not sure what else to provide. As I say, pretty new and flying safe after doing some time in beginner mode and watching plenty of advice vid's etc. I don't let it go too far at all until I'm more comfortable so gentle advice and a solution (or steps on how to diagnose) for the above problem would be appreciated before I take it out again.

Hi again, this is a new post of questions you asked before, which is fine, I don’t recall outcome of last post.