P3A 10th flight lost all confidence

Joined
May 13, 2015
Messages
28
Reaction score
4
Age
38
took my beloved p3a up today.

10th flight
Fully charged
Calibrated
Imu reset after upgrade
Flew in open field where I have been practicing before.
Closed all apps on iPhone 5s

Took off and went to 100 meters. The iPhone screen went black and got 'no signal' at the top of the screen

My heart sunk thinking I would have a fly away. Then I realised I still have full control but with no video on screen. I promptly landed and although I landed safely I won't fly again until these bugs have been ironed out. Please dji get on with it!
 
Joined
Apr 13, 2015
Messages
1,044
Reaction score
388
Location
Tim in San Diego
It's really not a bug....many many things could be the one time issue. You will be waiting a long time for a perfect environment.

The tablet is an enhancement to the drone, as you found out you had full control still, wonder how they flew when the enhancement was not available...fly los
 
Joined
Feb 5, 2014
Messages
1,129
Reaction score
353
Location
Foothills Of The Sierra's, California
I bet you took off and went straight up from your takeoff point 100m (333') and you lost signal on the video because the antennas were pointing vertical, sending the signal out in front of you in a 45º arch, Not straight up to where the bird was. (video needs more bandwidth) This is not a fault of the P3, but more likely the operator, if you are going to fly overhead at altitude you need to change the antenna orientation to accommodate that.
 
Joined
May 13, 2015
Messages
28
Reaction score
4
Age
38
I bet you took off and went straight up from your takeoff point 100m (333') and you lost signal on the video because the antennas were pointing vertical, sending the signal out in front of you in a 45º arch, Not straight up to where the bird was. (video needs more bandwidth) This is not a fault of the P3, but more likely the operator, if you are going to fly overhead at altitude you need to change the antenna orientation to accommodate that.
I think you hit the nail on the head!!! I had the antenna at a slight 'v' shape!
****! I have no idea why I did that. I think it's mixed up YouTube tutorials. Cheers 46rider
 
Joined
Jun 13, 2015
Messages
217
Reaction score
66
Age
36
Environmental conditions play a big part in RC signal range and penetration, even humidity plays a part. Was it foggy out at all? Smokey perhaps from nearby forest fires? I was not aware of how much smoke can effect the video signal until recently.
 
Joined
Feb 5, 2014
Messages
1,129
Reaction score
353
Location
Foothills Of The Sierra's, California
I think you hit the nail on the head!!! I had the antenna at a slight 'v' shape!
****! I have no idea why I did that. I think it's mixed up YouTube tutorials. Cheers 46rider
No problem, easy to do. The signal comes off the flat side of the antenna at about 45º vertical, like so < if you bird is overhead it will only get scatter, the controller is not the problem as it has a low bandwidth requirement, its the video that needs a solid signal.
 

ianwood

Taco Wrangler
Joined
Jan 7, 2014
Messages
5,109
Reaction score
2,042
Location
Lost Angeles
Someone needs to explain the RF doughnut. Oh, heck, I will.



See this doughnut? It's the signal between your controller and your P3. You and your controller are right smack in the middle of it. Z is where your antennas are pointing. If you exit the doughnut, no sweets for you! So if your antennas are straight up, don't fly straight up.
 
Joined
Jun 13, 2015
Messages
217
Reaction score
66
Age
36
Someone needs to explain the RF doughnut. Oh, heck, I will.



See this doughnut? It's the signal between your controller and your P3. You and your controller are right smack in the middle of it. Z is where your antennas are pointing. If you exit the doughnut, no sweets for you! So if your antennas are straight up, don't fly straight up.
This would explain why I had such poor reception when the smoke was rolling through Seattle. I thought the RF signal was more like the shape of an apple based on how it behaved on crystal clear days.
 
Joined
Mar 16, 2013
Messages
232
Reaction score
58
Location
Seattle
This would explain why I had such poor reception when the smoke was rolling through Seattle. I thought the RF signal was more like the shape of an apple based on how it behaved on crystal clear days.
Did you get some good video/pics of the amazing sunsets? I'm here in Seattle also, but haven't flown since last weekend.
 
Joined
Jun 13, 2015
Messages
217
Reaction score
66
Age
36
Nothing special, I didn't have much free time. I was only at the field to try and finish breaking in my two batteries.

This was taken in West Seattle. You can barely see the city to the right.

 
Joined
Aug 29, 2014
Messages
489
Reaction score
130
I think it's a bug. I've lost signal flying and had full control. 3 times with different firmware for 2 of them.
 
Joined
Jun 13, 2015
Messages
217
Reaction score
66
Age
36
I think it's a bug. I've lost signal flying and had full control. 3 times with different firmware for 2 of them.
This is not a bug... Just as F6Rider has explained, this is simply due to the video signal having more bandwidth requirements to maintain a smooth video feed... The control signal requires much less bandwidth, so it is able to maintain control with much more ease.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Aug 29, 2014
Messages
489
Reaction score
130
How can I fly with out video? It needs to be fixed whether a bug or not.
 
Joined
Jun 13, 2015
Messages
217
Reaction score
66
Age
36
The map works pretty well. I can confidently fly my P3 back to within visible range simply by using the map feature, along with the other sensor measurements that are included in the telemetry.
 
Joined
May 13, 2015
Messages
28
Reaction score
4
Age
38
I didn't have smoke, quite a dry day in the UK, 27 degrees Celsius. I did shoot straight up within 5 meters of myself. That graph/diagram makes perfect sense as the trajectory of the signal matches this. I would imagine the 'v' shape would have contributed too. Just need that sensor fix now!
 
Joined
Jun 18, 2015
Messages
12
Reaction score
0
Age
49
I had this happen to me tonight. No signal, it said 0 satellites, and the screen was blank. I could still see the map but my P3a wasn't moving in map. Thankfully I kept it in line of sight and was able to bring it home. Once I landed I shut everything down and restarted. It initially showed where i originally lost signal but then if reset my home point and took off with no issues. Is it some kind of glitch?

I have Around 50 flights and this is my first issue. I haven't updated to latest firmware yet. I still have the previous one. Could that have been the cause?
 
Joined
Aug 3, 2014
Messages
383
Reaction score
152
Age
49
Location
Indiana
Someone needs to explain the RF doughnut. Oh, heck, I will.



See this doughnut? It's the signal between your controller and your P3. You and your controller are right smack in the middle of it. Z is where your antennas are pointing. If you exit the doughnut, no sweets for you! So if your antennas are straight up, don't fly straight up.
SO - if you DO fly straight up, get horizontal so you can point the fat part of the doughnut toward ur bird!!


Sent from my PT beating heart
 
Joined
Jun 18, 2015
Messages
12
Reaction score
0
Age
49
I didn't fly strait up. I was around 275 ft and 800 feet away.
 
Joined
Jun 18, 2015
Messages
12
Reaction score
0
Age
49
I flew no different tonight than I have the previous 40 something flights
 

Forum statistics

Threads
136,758
Messages
1,414,127
Members
99,401
Latest member
MavicNovice