Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Standard P3 RTH Parameters

Discussion in 'Phantom 3 Help' started by Paul Schulze, Apr 5, 2016.

Tags:
  1. Paul Schulze

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2016
    Messages:
    237
    Likes Received:
    46
    Using RTH at a distance of 20m or less causes craft to land immediately. This can be problematic for landing in situations where, except very near the Home Point, water, terrain, trees, buildings, etc., are unsuitable landing sites. Is there anyway to change this parameter to allow RTH to bring the craft near to the set Home Point? I know one can always terminate RTH and fly by stick but at 20m, lighting, poorer vision, or some other unforeseen condition may make it difficult to gain proper rudder and bring it in.
     
  2. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    25,215
    Likes Received:
    7,650
    Location:
    Harrisburg, PA (US)
    No, that distance cannot be changed. Another option would be to use the Home Lock feature to help fly your Phantom back to the home point.
     
  3. Paul Schulze

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2016
    Messages:
    237
    Likes Received:
    46
    MSinger thank you. Is the purpose of the 20 m distance one of safety for the pilot?
     
  4. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    25,215
    Likes Received:
    7,650
    Location:
    Harrisburg, PA (US)
    With the P2, I've seen a lot of stories where the Phantom tried to RTH as someone was reaching to pick it up. I'm assuming DJI saw too many cases like that and tried to make it more safe.
     
Loading...
Similar Threads - RTH Parameters Forum Date
Need clarification on RTH parameters Standard/4k Discussion Oct 22, 2016
P3S to P3A........Is it worth it ? Pro/Adv Discussion Yesterday at 4:32 PM
Just land instead of RTH General Discussion Yesterday at 2:43 PM
Loss signal rth General Discussion Yesterday at 11:43 AM
What does this mean? P4P (current RTH route will pass a No-Fly Zone.) Phantom 4 Pro Help Yesterday at 6:28 AM