P3 Orientation (Course lock) for City block?

Reaction score
Hi guys,

This may be a stupid question but I'm a newb, so I have an excuse :) I'm pretty new here and to Drones in general. I have only flown a few times and always have to be directly behind my drone in order to feel comfortable and control it accordingly. Last month I purchased a P3 Pro and had a P2 Vision+ prior to this for only a few months and was only able to fly it a few times due to weather.

A good friend of mine who's getting married on Friday asked if I could film he and his bride walking into the hall on Friday. I'm not a pro but I told him yes since it should only be a few minutes of footage.

Of course, I want to play it safe so I came here to ask my fellow pilots their thoughts. As I mentioned I have no control over orientation yet but I want the shots to come out good so was thinking of using IOC Course lock. This will be taking place on a city block with a decent amount of space. The reason I'd like to use CL is so I can get shots from different angles without losing orientation. Of course I will be practicing prior to the wedding day but wanted too hear your thoughts on whether or not CL would be useful for this location as we don't have much space.

I've included a picture of the block/hall for you guys & gals to have a better understanding of the scenery.

Thank you in advance.
Screen Shot 2015-07-23 at 12.12.44 AM.png

Sorry, the red arrow is showing where they should be pulling up in the car.