P3 Loss of Control

Reaction score
Hi Everyone,

Im pretty new to the Phantom, well very new...only had it a week now with a dozen or so flights.

Every thing has gone great until today. I took the P3A out for a flight. I got one flight in without issue. Brought her back, swapped batteries and took off again. Very shortly after take off I found it was listing pretty hard to the left. I tried to correct and it just seemed to get worse. For the next 2 min or so, I struggled and fought her until I got her back on the ground. I let the sticks go to get it stabilized, but it just drifted off to the left. I tried RTH and while it did help getting the P3 back closer to me, it was still out of whack. I was finally able to get it back on the ground.

This was the first flights with the new firmware. Did a cold IMU cal as well as a compass cal on sight.

Here is the video from the flight:
To view this content we will need your consent to set third party cookies.
For more detailed information, see our cookies page.

You can see at :13 where it starts to list to the left. Also, attached is a shot of the flight data. I know its hard to see, but under the stick input notice that it shows the front of the copter pointing to the left. You can see from the video, that it was pointed 90 degrees to the right of where it thought it was.

I am not sure what to think here. I assume this is a compass thing, but any input would be appreciated.

Thanks

Attachments

• 2015-06-19 19.00.05.png
    2015-06-19 19.00.05.png
    1.1 MB · Views: 359
redo the imu make sure you are on solid non conductive surface and let the imu go all the way through. DO NOT MOVE ANYTHING while in process. worked for me.

I noticed in your fligRED LED's were a constant red, not beeping like I thought they were suppose to. But I may be wrong on this. I can not remember off hand if the constant red is a warning when flying, maybe someone else can tell us what the front LED's are suppose to be doing when in flight.