P2V+ Camera footage post processing...???

Reaction score
I'm a cinematographer and film editor, so post processing footage from high quality cameras is nothing new to me. I'm currently using a P2V+ for my aerial cinematography capturing for shoots. However, as everyone knows the camera on the P2V+ Is not the best when shooting 1080P compared to a gopro shooting the same resolution. I like how the stills turn out and how they are in RAW form, for better post editing, but the video footage just isn't up to par for high quality film making! So my question is, what are you guys doing that are using the P2V+ for aerial film making to make your footage look cleaner, take out the noise from the camera and perhaps some of the artifacting that's going on, etc...!???

Thanks!

-Clint

I've been told Adobe Premier is good for that. I plan to try it soon, for that very reason.
Where are you, Clint? I have a friend Clinton who is into cinematography.

Yes. I'm a premiere pro editor and I'm currently using red giant cinema looks filters and noise reduction, as well as 3-way color correction, but I'm still not full enthused by the results! Just wondering if someone else has figured out some tricks to making the P2V+ footage look cleaner and seemingly better resolution...???

Three things help quite a bit which I use in Adobe Premiere. (usually only need one!)
1) Easiest one - Antialias filter followed by light sharpen.
2) Magic Bullet looks - Diffusion filter, very good sometimes, again may need slight sharpen after, it's good to apply a grad to the sky too.
3) Neat Image noise reduction - needs tweaking manually to suit any problem areas, can work really well especially when you can only just see it was used.

When rendering try a final Gaussian blur filter set on 1 or 2.
Rendering is crucial, the V+ files vary a bit according to content, but are rarely over 13000 bitrate, so set the target at 13 or 14 and allow peaks up to 20.