Overcoming the Stigma of Drones

Reaction score
I'm new to drones although I have been flying R/C airplanes for over 30 years. When did drones get such a nasty stigma attached to them?

I started flying in solitude lately just to get away from the nasty looks of people who ignorantly think that my SOLE purpose for buying a $1500 drone is to spy on them. It's getting tiring. At least with my airplane club we have a designated flying area and nobody trolls us.

I wish more of the public was educated on the capabilities of these things. I suspect too many people think these things have super-zoom lenses of something. I just want to fly in peace. Solutions? S.O.L?

Spy or not they do allow imaging people, things, places from a perspective their not used to. Add to that they don't know who is imaging them and being flown in places I'd bet you'd never fly your model planes now or in the past.
I've put cameras on my fixed wing and CP-helis in the past but never flown them in the ways or places these 'anyone can fly' aircraft are by some.

If traditional model aircraft were flown similarly they'd of had the same stigma then that MRs do now.

Reactions: JetLife
As NO17RW has noted, it's a primary sensory issue with a lot of people that fear that which they don't understand. There a literally thousands of MRs that are hitting the skies everyday ranging from your supermarket RTF units right up to the high end packages that many of us here are flying and trying to be responsible with. I live in a tiny community with the only Phantom type quad for probably 30 klms and when I first flew, had the community talking about it. They soon figured out who the owner was and I literally was asked not to fly in certain areas due to the type of 'ahem' crops that were being grown in the countryside.