Operating for Free? P3S

Reaction score
I am a hobbyist with a P3S. I have been approached by local clubs and schools programs asking if I can shoot footage for them. Neither myself or the organizations would be receiving compensation or profit from the footage. Is this considered as using the drone for commercial purposes?

I don't think so. You should contact the FAA if you have any doubts though.

Reactions: BigAl07
You should contact the FAA if you have any doubts though.

Agreed. If any doubt seek legal council and if your local FSDO (FAA Office) gives you the OK by all means get that in writing. Always CYA. It's the intent of the flight that matters in the eyes of the FAA and the way they use the images is how/what will draw the FAA's attention.

I'm sure you can make this easy decision yourself if you want to do it then just do it , don't let stupid rules from idiots stop you doing what you love to do.Many people do it and even for money and so what who will ever know

Sent from my iPad using PhantomPilots mobile app

In the eyes of the FAA it could be commercial use. Tread carefully. It's a grey area.

Compensation/income/profit is not the only determining factor in the FAA's eyes.

I'm sure you can make this easy decision yourself if you want to do it then just do it , don't let stupid rules from idiots stop you doing what you love to do.Many people do it and even for money and so what who will ever know

Sent from my iPad using PhantomPilots mobile app
Here you are again saying dumb things. We have to follow FAA guidelines over here in the States. I'm sure if they decide it's commercial use, you'll be right there to pay the big fine he gets? Or serve the jail time for him? OP, do not listen to this poster! Do what was advised above................ check with the FAA to be sure. That's what it is all about now.

Reactions: Ralph M and BigAl07