One motor won't spin after a crash

Reaction score
Hello,

One of my motors stutters, but won't spin after a crash. The other three spin up. After googling, I thought maybe the motor itself was bad, so I bought a new one from amazon and soldered it in. Unfortunately, the new motor (which BTW, does not look identical - different thickness and mounting foot style) does the same thing. You can imagine my disappointment.

The DJI Assistant thing doesn't say anything is wrong with the copter.

Do I have a loose wire somewhere, or is this a bad motor control board, or something else? How do I troubleshoot?

Thanks!

--
Jesse
CreateThis

Yes. ESC. They are not hard to change. In theory the motor could be damaged too but it rarely is.

I know crashes = damage, but that's physical damage. Electronics should not fail electrically because a motor stops. I'm a software engineer, not a hardware engineer, but I know that's poor design. We should design new ESC boards that do not fail in this condition.

I've decided I'm going to start documenting all of my projects on Youtube. If anyone wants to laugh at my terrible soldering skills and mistaken assumptions, take a look:

PART 1: http://youtu.be/wpQYWcwoVPQ?list=UUGmXJ ... EBZCH9YRbQ
PART 2: http://youtu.be/Rk07LxMKrqU?list=UUGmXJ ... EBZCH9YRbQ

I've got some ESC boards and a flux pen on order. I'll make a PART 3 once the parts arrive and I've had time to brush up on how to solder wires to boards properly. :D

I appreciate what your saying, however electronics can be damaged too as a result of a crash. That's not a reflection of the quality of the build more a measure of the 'quality' of the crash.

Your front/left motor is the one not working in the vid, not back left, I can see why you crashed. ;) Just poking fun man.