Oh no. Did I just fry my Tx? (DJI FPV Hub)

Reaction score
Bear with me - I'm no electrician as it will become clear.

Just received my new FPV Hub, ImmersionRC 5.8 Tx, IOSD Mini, Black Pearl diversity monitor, and spironet antennas. The hub is cool for easily connecting the iOSD mini, and the gimbal. But since I don't have the DJI Rx/Tx, I had to do some manual connections.

I followed all the instructions here:

http://download.dji-innovations.com...PHANTOM_2_FPV_HUB_Kit_Instruction_v1.0_en.pdf

"GND wire of analog video signal, connect it to the VIDEO_GND port of wireless video transmission module. If the video transmission module used has only one GND port on the transmitter, it’s alright to connect both GND and VIDEO_GND to the only GND port."

Thinking I had only one ground port on the Tx I connected both of the brown wires from the Hub to the black wire on the Tx, not realizing I had two GND wires on the Tx. I also connected the VCC red wire to the 5V out port (also red). Ugh.

When I powered on the Phantom, there was a "pop" from the Tx, and a burning smell. So, I am guessing that's not good. But I was able to get a staticky B&W picture, surprisingly enough.

Realizing I had all my wires crossed I connected the ACC and GND to the correct ports on the Tx. Now I get a better picture, which is color, but once I move a few feet away I lose it almost entirely. So something is wrong - or more likely fried.

And one more thing, I have just been twisting the wires together to test the connection (probably a non-no). I was planning to solder the wires tomorrow at my studio.

So, did I just blow up my ImmersionRC Tx? Or is there a different problem?