Notification of battery drain

Reaction score
I am new to this and I have a FC40. Is there anything that tells you when the battery is getting low in the FC40 other than the lights? When I fly further out I can't see the lights to tell if I need to land due to low battery.

Hi there n4lb welcome to the hobby! If you're anything like me your bank ballance will hate you ;) as with the batterys for the fc40 of you are not weighing your phantom down with anything extra such s an extra battery/ go pro you should be able to get 12 mins out of the battery. Although if you're unsure 10 mins is a good time to bring it home. To time this you can always set a timer on your phone or invest in a timer for the transmitter. http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/like/28124725 ... 0&ff14=108 the other option if you don't plan on going long range is put a lipo allarm on the battery which will make a loud been when the battery falls below a set level. You should be able to hear this over the sound of the motors provided it is not too far away. You can get smart allarms and battery checkers built into each other llike this one which I use. https://www.google.co.uk/shopping/produ ... CFMQpiswAA these are particually useful when you have more than one battery where it can be hard to keep track on which is the charged battery. This particular checker also acts as a programmeable alarm with a very loud buzzer which you can see in the bottom half of the pack. Hope this clears things up a bit. If you have anymore questions feel free to inbox me!

How does that smart alarm work? Like how does it connect to the battery?

It plugs into the balance lead on the battery, It works with up to 8-cells of most battery types too. The smart bit means that it knows what battery you have plugged in too so there's no calibration necessary. The only thing you need to set is the low voltage setting that you want to go for. See the pic below for both of these points :)

Attachments

• P-FS-BC06_D.jpg
    P-FS-BC06_D.jpg