Noob To Part 107 sUAS Pilot -- Can it been done? -- The Gold Seal Way

Reaction score
I would like to use this thread to report on my "Noob to Part 107 sUAS Pilot" journey. I'm starting the Gold Seal Remote Pilot Ground School today in the hopes I can learn what I need to know in order to achieve my Part 107 certification. I currently know NOTHING, and quite frankly I'm a little concerned :oops:

Wish me luck guys! :eek:

I'm doing a 3 part video series on the journey, below is part 1.

cc: AultelXPilots

Update #1:

Well guys,..I completed my first week of study (Sunday through Sunday) and WOW, my head is spinning like a top! :eek: In my first week I've completed my first 'pass' of all the video's and quizzes. With the exception of one day, and because I'm not the sharpest tool in the shed, I studied at least an hour a day.

There is a LOT of information presented and WILL require multiple, slow, methodical passes though it to learn the principles and knowledge being taught. I'm not talking just memorizing the information, but really getting a good understanding of it.

In my first pass through, I concentrated on watching the video's, working through the flash cards and taking the quizzes. In my second pass (this week), I'm going to concentrate on reviewing the supplemental information for each lesson, and practicing reading Sectionals, METAR's (not a dinosaur after all, who knew :p ), TAF's and Weather Maps. Gold Seal has added a lot of supplemental information to each module/lesson. The supplements seemed to be comprised of both excerpts from the FAA and original documents produced by Gold Seal.

I've had several question during my first pass, and each time Gold Seal replied extremely fast.